The Fusion Energy Sciences Advisory Committee (FESAC) has been Chartered pursuant to Section 14(a)(2)(A) of the Federal Advisory Committee Act Public Law 92-463, and Section 101-6.1015, title 41 Code of Federal Regulations. The committee provides independent advice to the Director of the Office of Science on complex scientific and technological issues that arise in the planning, implementation, and management of the fusion energy sciences program. The current charter is in effect until August 2025.

The Director of the Office of Science charges the committee to provide advice and recommendations on various issues of concern to the Fusion Energy Sciences program. The Committee conducts its business in public meetings, and submits reports containing its advice and recommendations to the Director of the Office of Science.

Notices of upcoming FESAC meetings are published in the Federal Register at least two weeks before the scheduled date of the meeting.

Professor Anne White
Head, Nuclear Science and Engineering Department
School of Engineering Distinguished
  Professor of Engineering
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Designated Federal Officer
Dr. Jean Paul Allain
Associate Director of Science for
Fusion Energy Sciences
FESAC Manager
Dr. Samuel J. Barish
Office of Fusion Energy Sciences
FESAC Administrative Manager
Ms. Sandy Newton
Office of Fusion Energy Sciences