Prior Years News Archives

  • 2014 DOE NP Competitive Review of New Proposals

    As part of its ongoing effort to steward a research program of the highest quality and impact, the DOE Office of Nuclear Physics (NP) is planning to hold a competitive review of all new University and National Laboratory research proposals received from October 1, 2013 until May 1, 2014. The review will take place in the summer 2014 timeframe in order to inform FY 2015 NP Research Division awards, subject to the availability of funds. Applications received during the period May 2 – September 30, 2014 may not receive consideration for funding until FY 2016.

    The planned competitive review will address topics and proposed activities within the portfolio of the NP Physics Research Division. Research efforts that are not included in this review are the Accelerator R&D Program, the Isotope Program, the Nuclear Data Program, the NP SciDAC Program, Topical Collaborations in Nuclear Theory, and international collaboration awards.

    This guidance is specific to the Office of Nuclear Physics and supplements the Office of Science (SC) annual Funding Opportunity Announcement(FOA) DE-FOA-0000995.  Further information on the competitive research review process will be posted.

  • The 2013 DOE NP Comparative Research Review

    The DOE Office of Nuclear Physics (NP) Physics Research Division convened a comparative panel review of university and laboratory research that it supports in the subfields of Heavy Ions, Medium Energy, Nuclear Structure and Nuclear Astrophysics, Nuclear Theory, and Fundamental Symmetries. The panel review sessions took place in May and June of 2013.

    The comparative panel reviews of scientific research subfields in the NP Physics Research Division provided independent, expert, peer review comparative evaluations of the competitiveness of supported research activities as part of NP’s continuing effort to ensure the science it supports is of the highest merit, quality, and impact. The outcome provided input essential to NP’s overarching goal of sustaining the most vibrant, high quality portfolio of nuclear science possible within available resources, consistent with program balance and with the strategic vision for US nuclear science developed in partnership with the research community and other stakeholders.  The final report is available here.

  • 2014 Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award

    Dr. Mei Bai

    Dr. Mei Bai

    The Ernest Orlando Lawrence award was established in 1959 and has recognized mid-career scientists and engineers in the United States who have advanced new research and scientific discovery in the chemical, biological, environmental and computer sciences; condensed matter and materials; fusion and plasma sciences; high energy and nuclear physics; and national security and nonproliferation. The 2014 awardees included Dr. Mei Bai of Brookhaven National Laboratory honored for her outstanding contributions advancing understanding of the dynamics of spin-polarized beams and for the acceleration of polarized protons at the Relativistic Heavy Ion Collider (RHIC), making it the world’s first and only high energy polarized proton collider. The successful acceleration of polarized proton beams up to 255 GeV, and the collision of polarized protons up to a center-of-mass energy of 510 GeV in RHIC, has impacted fundamental nuclear physics, since it allowed for the first direct measurement of the gluon and sea quark contribution to the spin of the proton. Further information is available at:
  • 2015 Tom W. Bonner Prize in Nuclear Physics Recipients

    GyulassyWeimanThe Bonner prize was established by the American Physical Society (APS) to recognize and encourage outstanding research in nuclear physics, including the development of a method, technique, or device that significantly contributes in a general way to nuclear physics research. The prize was endowed in 1964 as a memorial to Tom W. Bonner by his friends, students and associates.

    The recipients of the 2015 Bonner Prize are Howard Wieman of the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and Miklos Gyulassy of Columbia University. According to the APS announcement, Dr. Wieman and Prof. Gyulassy are being acknowledged.

    "For developing foundational experimental and theoretical tools to enable and guide generations of experiments in relativistic heavy ion physics. The combination of experiment and theory led to the initial discoveries at RHIC, ongoing precision studies of the properties of hot nuclear matter, and to exploration of the nuclear matter phase diagram."

    Further information is available at

  • James Lattimer (State University of New York/Stony Brook) Awarded the Bethe Prize

    LattimerThe Bethe Prize was established by the American Physical Society (APS) to recognize outstanding work in theory, experiment or observation in the areas of astrophysics, nuclear physics, nuclear astrophysics, or closely related fields.  The prize is endowed by contributions from the Division of Astrophysics and the Division of Nuclear Physics of the APS, and friends of Hans A. Bethe to honor him for his outstanding and numerous accomplishments in both astrophysics and nuclear physics.

    The recipient of the 2015 Bethe Prize is Prof. James Lattimer of the State University of New York, Stony Brook. According to the APS announcement, Professor Lattimer is being acknowledged for outstanding theoretical work connecting observations of supernovae and neutron stars with neutrino emission and the equation of state of matter beyond nuclear density.

    Professor Lattimer’s research is supported by the DOE’s Office of Science, Office of Nuclear Physics (NP).

    Further information is available here

  • Larry McLerran (BNL) Awarded Feshbach Prize

    Larry McLerranThe Feshbach Prize in Theoretical Nuclear Physics was established in 2014 by the American Physical Society (APS) “To recognize and encourage outstanding research in theoretical nuclear physics.”  The Prize commemorates Herman Feshbach, who was a renowned Professor of Theoretical Nuclear Physics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) for over 50 years, and served as Department Chair and Director of the MIT Center for Theoretical Physics.  It is supported by the APS Division of Nuclear Physics (DNP), and by the Feshbach family and friends.

    The recipient of the 2015 Feshbach Prize is Dr. Larry McLerran of Brookhaven National Laboratory.  According to the APS announcement, Dr. McLerran is being acknowledged

    For his pioneering contributions to our understanding of quantum chromodynamics at high energy density and laying the theoretical foundations of experimental ultrarelativistic heavy ion collisions. His work has been a crucial guide to experiments at RHIC and LHC, and he has mentored a generation of young theorists.

    Dr. McLerran’s research is supported by the DOE’s Office of Science, Office of Nuclear Physics (NP),

    Further information is available at

    American Physical Society

    BNL Newsroom