The winning Middle School and High School teams of the 2024 National Science Bowl

Coach Nick Gould, Damon Gurvich, Shreyas Ekanathan, Evin Liang, David Zhou, Anuprabha Dandapat of Lexington High School in Lexington, Massachusetts and United States Secretary of Energy Jennifer Granholm stand on stage with Timothy Wu, Kevin Wu, Katherine Long, Gordon Bu, David Xiao and Coach Liping Ke of BASIS Independent Bellevue (MS) in Bellevue, Washington at the Lisner Auditorium during the 2024 National Science Bowl® Monday, April 29, 2024, in Washington, DC. Photo by Joshua Lawton, National Science Bowl®, Department of Energy, Office of Science


Launched in 1991, the National Science Bowl® (NSB) is a highly competitive science education and academic event among teams of high school and middle school students who compete in a fast-paced verbal forum to solve technical problems and answer questions in all branches of science and math. Each team is composed of four students, one alternate student, and a coach. Regional and national events encourage student involvement in math and science activities of importance to the Department of Energy and the Nation.

Regional science bowl championship teams receive an all-expenses paid trip to compete at the national event. High school and middle school teams travel to Washington, D.C. in April. The national events are several days of science activities, sightseeing, and competitions. Teams enjoy the entire science bowl experience and take home many prizes. There are cutting-edge science seminars and hands-on science activities.

Click To View The Past Winners of The National Science Bowl®: High School Winners and Middle School Winners

Click To View Past National Science Bowl® Photos and Videos