THE DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY

Office of Public Affairs

News Media Contacts:

DOE Public Affairs: (202) 586-4940

National Science Bowl Press Room: (301) 961-2854 For Immediate Release: Sunday, April 29, 2012

Your Local Team Advances in the National Science Bowl in Washington D.C.

"Sweet 16" High School and "Great 8" Middle School Teams Move Forward in National Finals Competition

Washington D.C. – Sixteen of the 69 regional high school champion teams and eight of the 44 regional middle school championship teams have advanced to the double elimination round of the National Finals in Washington, D.C. All of these teams will bring home a cash award of \$1,000 to their school science department.

"Congratulations to the finalists of our 22nd annual Science Bowl, who represent some of America's most promising future leaders in science, technology, engineering and math," said U.S. Energy Secretary Steven Chu. "At a time when the Obama Administration is working to keep college affordable and expand opportunity for American families nationwide, these students represent the next generation of American innovators who will help to make sure America stays competitive in a rapidly advancing world."

After a final round of eliminations, three high school teams and two middle school teams will compete in the national championships tomorrow, Monday, April 30 at the National Building Museum. The championship rounds of competition, followed by remarks by Secretary of Energy Steven Chu and an awards ceremony will be webcast live at 9:30 a.m. The webcast is available at: http://science.energy.gov/nsb/.

The top 16 teams are, listed alphabetically:

- Amarillo High School (Amarillo, Texas)
- Cypress Bay High School (Weston, Florida)
- DuPont Manual High School (Louisville, Kentucky)
- Hunter College High School (New York City, New York)
- Illinois Math and Science Academy (Aurora, Illinois)
- Lexington High School (Lexington, Massachusetts)
- Liberal Arts and Science Academy (Austin, Texas)
- Los Alamos High School (Los Alamos, New Mexico)
- Mira Loma High School (Sacramento, California)
- Montgomery Blair High School (Silver Spring, Maryland)

- Morgantown High School (Morgantown, West Virginia)
- North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics (Durham, North Carolina)
- North Hollywood High School (Los Angeles, California)
- Princeton High School (Princeton, New Jersey)
- Pullman High School (Pullman, Washington)
- Treasure Valley Math and Science Center (Boise, Idaho)

The top 8 middle school teams are, listed alphabetically:

- Harker School (San Jose, California)
- Hopkins Junior High School (Fremont, California)
- Longfellow Middle School (Falls Church, Virginia)
- Quail Valley Middle School Academy for the Gifted & Talented (Missouri City, Texas)
- Seattle Science Infinity Club (Bellevue, Washington)
- Shahala Middle School (Vancouver, Washington)
- Treasure Valley Math and Science Center (Boise, Idaho)
- Van Antwerp Middle School (Niskayuna, New York)

The championship high school team will win a trip to Alaska to study marine and avian biology, glaciers and geology. The top eight middle school teams in the double elimination rounds will each receive \$1,000 for their school's science department and a National Science Bowl plaque.

The Energy Department created the National Science Bowl in 1991 to encourage students to excel in mathematics and science and to pursue careers in these fields. It is now the nation's largest science competition, with more than 200,000 students participating throughout its 22 year history.

Each team is composed of four students, one alternate student, and a coach. The names of the teams' students and coaches, as well as student biographical information, are available at: http://science.energy.gov/nsb/news-media/. During the competition, photos of the teams and B-roll footage of the events will be posted to the same web site.

All events are open to the press. All teams will be available for interviews throughout the competition. Reporters interested in requesting interviews (including by phone) or photos should contact the Science Bowl press representative at (301) 961-2854 or National.Science.Bowl@science.doe.gov during the competition.