

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Monday, May 4, 2009

NEWS MEDIA CONTACT: Jeff Sherwood: (202) 586-4826

# Mira Loma High School and Hopkins Junior High School from California Win U.S. Department of Energy National Science Bowl®

**WASHINGTON, DC** – High school and middle school teams from California won the 2009 U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) National Science Bowl® today at the National Building Museum in Washington.

Mira Loma High School from Sacramento beat Lexington High School from Lexington, Massachusetts in the high school national championship match. Hopkins Junior High School from Fremont, California beat Jonas Clarke Middle School from Lexington, Massachusetts in the middle school national championship match.

Members of the winning high school team include Edward Lee, Andrew Chen, Heather Yee, Rishi Kulkarni, and Sriram Pendyala and coach James Hill. Members of the winning middle school team include Raghu Dhara, Audrey Huang, Margaret Shen, Hairuo Guo, and Aditya Jung and coaches Paul Ricks and Lorie Anderson.

The high school national champion will receive an all-expense-paid science research trip to attend the International Science School at the University of Sydney, Australia. The top 16 high school and 16 middle school teams received a cash prize for their school science department — \$1,000 for the high school teams and \$500 for the middle school teams.

"I congratulate the teams for their victories in the Department of Energy's National Science Bowl," U.S. Secretary of Energy Steven Chu said. "The students in this competition displayed an impressive level of skill in a variety of scientific and technical subjects. We're witnessing a resurgence of enthusiasm among our nation's young people for finding solutions to our climate crisis, and these students embody the excitement and dedication to science that will be a critical factor in transforming the way we use and produce energy. Engaging our young students in activities like the National Science Bowl will help produce the next generation of leaders who will help the U.S. reduce its carbon footprint and remain the world's leader in science, engineering and discovery." More than 500 students from 42 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands competed in this weekend's National Finals of the 19th annual DOE National Science Bowl. Earlier this spring, more than 20,000 students from across the country participated in regional Science Bowls. Sixty-seven high school and 36 middle school regional Science Bowl champions received all-expense paid trips to compete in the National Finals in Washington, D.C.

DOE created the National Science Bowl in 1991 to encourage students to excel in mathematics and science and to pursue careers in these fields. DOE supports mathematics and science education to help provide a technically trained and diverse workforce for the nation. More than 150,000 students have participated in the National Science Bowl throughout its 19 year history.

## High School Results

Placing second in the DOE National Science Bowl was the Lexington High School from Lexington, Massachusetts. Team members include: Jaeyoon Lee, Noah Arbesfeld, Joshua Leung, Christopher Teng, and Kyumin Lee and coaches Nicholas Gould and Ryan Grams.

The third place team was Oak Ridge High School from Oak Ridge, Tennessee. Team members include: Xinran Liu, Rowan Chakoumakos, Katherine Xue, Alborz Bejnood, and Leon Zhang and coach Anita Ganguly.

The fourth place team was Santa Monica High School from Santa Monica, California. Team members include: Toni Rubell, Christina Tsai, Marino Di Franco, and Aaron Friedman, and coach Ingo Gaida.

Syracuse University STEP from Syracuse, New York won the high school Science Bowl Civility Award for outstanding sportsmanship. Team members are Hadjer Sahraoui, Iryonna Scruggs, Devante Watson, Melquea Smith, and Nour El-Houda Sahraoui and coach Sarah Sahraoui. They won a trip to the Crow Canyon Archaeological Center in Southwestern Colorado.

## Middle School Results

Placing second in the DOE National Science Bowl was the Jonas Clarke Middle School from Lexington, Massachusetts. Team members include: Darwin Ding, Zaroug Jaleel, William Lockwood, Alan Zhou, and James Lung and coach Dr. Mohammed Jaleel.

The third place team was Challenger School from Sunnyvale, California. Team members include: Tanay Nandgaonkar, Prayuj Pushkarna, Kai Xiao, Debnil Sur, Kshithij Shrinath and coaches Sumana Sur and Lakshmi Shrinath..

The fourth place team was Albuquerque Academy from Albuquerque, New Mexico. Team members include: Simon Mattsson, Robert Chen, Geelon So, Drew Brost, and Eric Li and coach Barbara Gilbert.

Sierra Science Magnet Middle School Las Cruces, New Mexico won the middle school Science Bowl Civility Award for outstanding sportsmanship. Team members are Dustin Hadfield, Fionna McCrossin, Jeongmin Lee, Alex Antholzner, and Jesse Gioannini and coach David Wibe.

Each member of the top four high school and top three middle school teams received a Nspire calculator provided by Texas Instruments. The top three high school and top three middle schools teams won Computer Based Laboratories/2.

The other 12 high school and 12 middle school teams receiving the \$1000 and \$500 respective cash awards include:

### High School

Albany High School, Albany, California Brophy College Preparatory, Phoenix, Arizona Central Academy, Des Moines, Iowa Homestead High School, Cupertino, California Mission San Jose High School, Fremont, California North Hollywood High School, North Hollywood, California Punahou School, Honolulu, Hawaii St. Paul Central High School, St. Paul, Minnesota Terre Haute South Vigo High School, Terre Haute, Indiana Ward Melville High School, East Setauket, New York West Windsor-Plainsboro High School North, Plainsboro, New Jersey Woodrow Wilson High School, Beckley, West Virginia

### Middle School

Abraham Lincoln Middle School, Gainesville, Florida Honey Creek Middle School, Terre Haute, Indiana Lincoln Middle School, Pullman, Washington Lux Middle School, Lincoln, Nebraska Madison Park School, Phoenix, Arizona Northern Virginia Homeschoolers, Herndon, Virginia Robert Cushman Murphy Junior High School, Stony Brook, New York Saginaw Arts and Sciences Academy, Saginaw, Michigan Summa Academy South, Beaverton, Oregon Takoma Park Middle School, Silver Spring, Maryland Thomas Grover Middle School, Princeton Junction, New Jersey Van Antwerp Middle School, Niskayuna, New York

St. Andrews Episcopal School from Amarillo, Texas won \$750 for the fastest car in the Hydrogen Fuel Cell Model Car Challenge, where all the National Science Bowl middle school teams designed, built and raced hydrogen-fueled model cars. The Van Antwerp Middle School from Niskayuna, New York placed second in the model car race and won \$500. The Abraham Lincoln Middle School from Gainesville, Florida placed third in the model car race winning

\$250. Will James Middle School from Billings, Montana won the design portion of the car competition and a \$500 prize.

This year's corporate sponsors were AREVA, Inc, Bechtel, General Motors, IBM, SAIC, Shell, Southwest Airlines and Texas Instruments.

The DOE Office of Science manages the DOE National Science Bowl. The Office of Science is the principal supporter of DOE's world-class national laboratory system that will lead the way in innovations including high-end computing, nanotechnology, biotechnology, energy sources, and other material science research.

Photos of the winning teams, biographical information about the teams and more information about the DOE National Science Bowl are available at <u>http://nationalsciencebowl.energy.gov</u>.

-DOE-