

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

May 13, 2019

CONTACT:

Pam Bonee (865) 576-3146 Pam.Bonee@orau.org

Some of the nation's most accomplished STEM teachers selected as Albert Einstein Educator Fellows

Teachers representing eight states will apply classroom experience to Federal, Congressional, and Executive branch offices.

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Nine accomplished K-12 science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) teachers from across the United States have been named 2019-2020 Albert Einstein Distinguished Educator Fellows. The fellows will spend 11 months serving in a Federal agency or U.S. Congressional offices in Washington, DC, engaged in the national STEM education arena.

The Albert Einstein Distinguished Educator Fellowship (AEF) Program provides a unique opportunity for accomplished K-12 STEM educators to apply their extensive classroom knowledge and experiences to their host offices to inform Federal STEM education efforts.

The 2019-2020 Einstein Fellows are as follows:

Amara Alexander - Chattanooga, TN Linda Antinone - Fort Worth, TX Matthew Bryant - Bowling Green, KY Emilie Hill - Sun Valley, CA Stephen Kirsche - St. Johns, FL Alexandra Laing - Lake Worth, FL Kenneth Mims - Phoenix, AZ Mary Lou O'Donnell - Long Beach, NY Debbie Reynolds - Pittsburg, PA

The 2019-2020 Einstein Fellows come from K-12 schools across the country and represent diverse teaching backgrounds—with expertise in science, engineering, and mathematics. Federal agencies and U.S. Congressional Offices will benefit from Fellows' real-world experiences as educators. In return, Einstein Fellows will gain understanding of the role of the Federal Government in the U.S. education enterprise, knowledge of resources available to students and educators, and broader

perspectives on national education issues that can be applied to the classroom or to leadership positions in their districts or elsewhere.

The AEF Program, now in its 29th year of operation, is managed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science's Office of Workforce Development for Teachers and Scientists in collaboration with the sponsoring agencies and the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE).

Current sponsoring agencies of the AEF Program include DOE, the Library of Congress, the Naval Sea Systems Command, and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration. In addition to sponsoring placements at DOE headquarters, DOE sponsors five placements in U.S. Congressional offices.

The Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE) is a world-class DOE institute designed to strengthen a scientific workforce; promote the integrity of scientific research through peer review; provide 24/7 medical response to radiation accidents; evaluate human health data to protect workers from occupational hazards; and conduct independent environmental cleanup assessments.

Like us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AEFProgram/

Follow us on Twitter: @AEF_Program

###

