P5 Rollout

HEPAP

Gaithersburg, MD; September 29-30, 2014

Andrew J. Lankford
HEPAP Chair
University of California, Irvine

Community Letter

- In support of P5 Report
- Sent to Energy Secretary Moniz & to NSF Director Cordova
- 2095 signatures gathered in 1st week and sent with letter
- 2331 signatures collected in total

Drafted and assembled by the "HEP Community P5 Rollout Committee", a joint committee of:

- APS Division of Particles and Fields
- Users organizations of Fermilab, SLAC, and US LHC

The letter was effective at communicating the broad support in the US particle physics community for the P5 report

- an important message in light of our reputation as a "fractious" community

Many thanks to community members for their support of the P5 report, & thank you for initiative to HEP Community P5 Rollout Organizing Committee*

^{*} The HEP Community P5 Rollout Organizing Committee consisted of: Daniel Akerib, Robert Bernstein, Pushpa Bhat (Co-Chair), Edward Blucher, James Brau, Raymond Brock, Sally Dawson, Robin Erbacher, Yuri Gershtein, Howard Haber, Nick Hadley, JoAnne Hewett, Harvey Newman, Nicola Omodei, Laura Reina, B. Lee Roberts, Jonathan Rosner, Sally Seidel, Ian Shipsey (Co-Chair), Michael Tuts, Breese Quinn, Michael Sokoloff, Nikos Varelas, Hendrik Weerts



P5 Briefings & Presentations

22 May: Approval of P5 report by HEPAP.

Week 1

27 May: 90-minute briefing at the **Executive Office of the President (OSTP/OMB**, including the

examiners for NSF and DOE and agency representatives). They were very engaged and

interested.

28 May: **Secretary Moniz** briefing (30 minutes)

29 May: briefing and discussion with the APS Physics Policy Council. Speakers were Ritz, Lankford,

and Lockyer. APS President Mac Beasley sent testimony in support of HEP for our

hearing on 10 June (see below).

Week 2

2 June: Community online presentation, followed by further discussions in various venues.

5 June: Senate Energy and Natural Resources briefing. Pushpa Bhat wrote summary. There were

also statements of support read by Jonathan Bagger, Drew Baden, and Bob Wilson. Joe

Lykken was also there and talked with staffers and others.

6 June: LHCP panel and presentations. Fabiola Gianotti gave a great talk on future colliders. Dennis

Overbye moderated a panel discussion (Ritz, Arkani-Hamed, Blazey, Bertolucci, Muryama,

Roe). Andy Lankford and Jim Siegrist then summed up.

Week 3

8 June: **CMS** at meeting in Tahoe.

10 June: House Energy subcommittee hearing. Nigel Lockyer, Natalie Roe, Persis Drell, and Steve

Ritz were invited to testify.

11 June: **FNAL Users meeting**: presentation & panel discussion

12 June: U. Chicago Physics Department presentation, as well as additional meetings



P5 Briefings & Presentations - 2

Week 4

16 June: **DOE PI meeting** presentation and discussion

16 June: Scientific Policy Committee, CERN

Week 5

23 June: APPEC international neutrino infrastructure meeting in Paris

Week 6

30 June: Nuclear Science Advisory Committee (NSAC)

Week 7

7 July: Discussion with **HEPAP Accelerator R&D Panel**

8 July: as part of American program report to ICHEP, Valencia (Shipsey)

9 July Discussion with Fermilab PAC

Week 8

14 July: Advanced Accelerator Concepts 2014 Workshop presentation & discussion

Week 9

25 July: **ECFA Plenary**, DESY

Future:

27 October: Lankford – ICFA Seminar, Beijing

2 November: Ritz – National Academy of Science Board of Physics & Astronomy

- In addition, many consultations and discussions with community members and leaders of projects and activities in other regions
- There are also strong letters of support from community, from APS President Beasley and other community organizations. Op-Ed by APS President Beasley

Notes on Community Letter

Community Letter sent to the Secretary of Energy on June 23, 2014 http://dpfnewsletter.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/P5_CommunityLetter_DOE.pdf

Community Letter sent to the NSF Director on June 23, 2014 http://dpfnewsletter.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/P5_CommunityLetter_NSF.pdf

Final Signatories List

http://dpfnewsletter.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/signatories_list-final.pdf