Meeting of the Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee October 10-11, 2000 Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

AGENDA

	Tuesday, October 10, 2000	
8:00am - 8:30am	Coffee	
8:30am - 8:45am	Introduction	Geraldine Richmond, BESAC Chair, University of Oregon
8:45am - 9:45am	News from Basic Energy Sciences	Patricia Dehmer, Associate Director of Science for Basic Energy Sciences
9:45am - 10:10am	Break	
10:10am - 10:15am	Introduction of the Director, Office of Science Mildred Dresselhaus	Patricia Dehmer, Associate Director of Science for Basic Energy Sciences
10:15am - 11:15am	Remarks from Director, Office of Science	Mildred Dresselhaus, Director, Office of Science
11:15am - 11:45am	Research in Novel Coherent Light Sources in BES	Eric Rohlfing, Basic Energy Sciences
11:45am - 1:00pm	Lunch	
1:00pm – 1:30pm	Linac Coherent Light Source Scientific Case Overview	Keith Hodgson, Stanford Linear Accelerator Center
1:30pm – 2:00pm	Femtochemistry	Dan Imre, Brookhaven National Laboratory
2:00pm – 2:30pm	Studies of Nanoscale Dynamics in Condensed Matter Physics	Brian Stephenson, Argonne National Laboratory
2:30pm - 3:00pm	Break	
3:00pm - 3:30pm	Atomic Physics Experiments	Phil Bucksbaum, University of Michigan
3:30pm - 4:00pm	Plasma and Warm Dense Matter Studies	Richard Lee, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
4:00pm - 4:30pm	Structural Studies on Single Particles and Biomolecules	Janos Hajdu, Uppsala University
4:30pm - 5:00pm	Open Discussion on Linac Coherent Light Source	
5:00pm - 5:15pm	Public Comment	
5:15pm	Adjourn	
7:00pm	Dinner	Marriott Hotel
	Wednesday, October 11, 2000	
8:00am - 8:30am	Coffee	
8:30am – 9:00am	Summary of Linac Coherent Light Source Discussion and Formulation of Response	Geraldine Richmond, BESAC Chair, University of Oregon
9:00am – 9:30am	Other BESAC Business	Geraldine Richmond, BESAC Chair, University of Oregon
9:30am – 10:00am	Summary of BESAC Recommendations, BES Responses, and Funding Requirements	Patricia Dehmer, Associate Director of Science for Basic Energy Sciences
10:00am – 10:30am	Break	
10:30am – 11:00am	News from Materials Science and Engineering Division	Iran Thomas, Director, Materials Sciences and Engineering Division
11:00am - 11:30am	News from Chemical Sciences, Geosciences, and Biosciences Division	William Millman, Director, Chemical Sciences, Geosciences, and Biosciences Division
11:30am - 11:45am	Public Comment	
11:45am	Adjourn	