Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee July 14, 2022 Agenda

Zoom Registration (*must register to attend*): https://www.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_JZkivWLuQ3SBCAx4jqpO6g

	Thursday, July 14, 2022	
11:00am – 11:15am	Introduction	Cynthia Friend, The Kavli Foundation BESAC Chair
11:15am – 11:45am	Office of Science Update	Asmeret Asefaw Berhe, Director, Office of Science
11:45am – 12:45pm	Office of Basic Energy Sciences Update	Linda Horton, Associate Director Gail McLean, Acting CSGB Division Director Andrew Schwartz, MSE Division Director
12:45pm – 1:15pm	30-minute Break	
1:15pm – 2:15pm	Early Career Panel	Panel Lead: Cynthia Friend BES Early Career Program: Andrew Schwartz, MSE Division Director BES Early Career Network: Robin Hayes, BES Program Manager National Lab Early Career Staff Development: Horst Simon, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
2:15pm – 3:00pm	Energy Earth Shot Initiative	Kelly Visconti, Crosscut Team Lead, Office of Under Secretary for Science and Innovation
3:00pm – 3:30pm	30-minute Break	
3:30pm – 4:50pm	Operando Science and Instrumentation	Panel Lead: Esther Takeuchi Synchrotron X-ray Research: Johanna Nelson Weker, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory Neutron Science Research: Ashfia Huq, Sandia National Laboratories Microscopy Research: Katherine Jungjohann, National Renewable Energy Laboratory XFEL X-ray Research: Leora Dresselhaus-Marais, Stanford University
4:50pm – 5:00pm	Public Comment Session	
5:00pm	Adjourn	