## Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee April 5, 2022 Agenda

## **Zoom Information**

https://www.zoomgov.com/j/1613211854?pwd=NmtZQ3MxWUJwVFFnbkhodkVyM0YxQT09

Passcode: 923732

**Or Telephone:** 833 568 8864 (Toll Free) Webinar ID: 161 321 1854 Passcode: 923732

International numbers available: <a href="https://www.zoomgov.com/u/ac4Ptx0UFg">https://www.zoomgov.com/u/ac4Ptx0UFg</a>

	Tuesday, April 5, 2022	
11:00am – 11:15am	Introduction	Cynthia Friend, The Kavli Foundation BESAC Chair
11:15am – 11:45am	Research Priorities for Science and Energy	Geraldine Richmond, Under Secretary for Science and Innovation
11:45am – 12:00pm	Office of Science Update	Steve Binkley, Acting Director Office of Science
12:00pm – 1:00pm	Office of Basic Energy Sciences Update	Linda Horton, Associate Director Bruce Garrett, CSGB Division Director Andrew Schwartz, MSE Division Director
1:00pm – 1:30pm	30-minute Break	
1:30pm – 2:00pm	JCESR: Scientific Progress and Technological Impact	George Crabtree, Argonne National Laboratory
2:00pm – 2:30pm	Plant Research Laboratory: Fundamental Mechanisms of Photosynthesis	Christoph Benning, Michigan State
2:30pm – 3:00pm	Roundtable on Foundational Science for Carbon Dioxide Removal Technologies	Krista Walton, Georgia Institute of Technology
3:00pm – 3:30pm	30-minute Break	
3:30pm – 4:50pm	Scientific Competitiveness: Challenges in Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Workforce Retention	Panel Lead: Matthew Tirrell, U of Chicago/ANL NSF Indicators: Vipin Arora & Amy Burke, National Science Foundation DOE Update: Julie Carruthers, SC-2 & Gail McLean, BES Discussion
4:50pm – 5:00pm	Public Comment Session	
5:00pm	Adjourn	